Festival Inspired Makeup

With it being festival season and the infamous Paradiso rapidly approaching, (major jealousy and FOMO I’m feeling right now you guys, I wish I could go!) I figured what better post to give you all than to inspire you to make sure your makeup is totally Tumblr post ready.

Big shout out to Marina for the idea, Haley for her photography skills for without which I would be using my iPhone 6+, Syd for bangin out some rockin’ hair styles, and Kendal, Jordie, Micaela, and Emily for lending me your gorgeous faces to paint!

For the looks that have colored face paint, I used Ben Nye’s aqua paints. The palette I have looks like this:

bennye

They’re available online at naimies.com for $28 retail, but I got mine at my local costume makeup store in the linen district. It comes with all of the primary colors, white and black, and they threw in green to make our lives easier. You can mix these however you would like, so it’s extremely versatile for a great price. I prefer the aqua paints over others for face/body because they’re easy to work with (all you need is a paint brush, water, and a little bit of inspo) and they stay on ALL. DAY. Big plus, they come off easily with makeup remover wipes (perfect for festival camping, due to lack of running water and also we all know you’re going to be too drunk anyways).

The rest of the products used I will include under each look.

I hope you enjoy these looks as much as I enjoyed creating them!

Fest003 Fest055_1 Fest058

Emily’s super simple look was created using the ben nye paints for the design. I used a sigma E30 to create the red dots. Her face is Too Faced coco powder in Medium, Too Faced chocolate soleil bronzer, and Becca Cosmetics Opal highlighter. Her eyes are a cocktail of shadows from the Tartelette palette, CoverGirl Lash blast mascara, and the eyebrows were shaped using Anastasia Beverly Hill’s dip brow pomade in Blonde.

Her flower crown was something I made for my halloween costume last year using a thick headband, hot glue, and fake flowers from hobby lobby.

Fest011

Fest062

Micaela’s look was created using rhinestones (you can use any you have, I got a giant tub of them from Hobby Lobby for 50% off) and the rhinestones were adhered using Ben Nye’s spirit gum. If you don’t have access to spirit gum, you can use lash glue, but make sure the area you’re applying it to is relatively free of makeup otherwise it won’t stick. Her brows were shaped using Anastasia’s Dip Brow pomade in the color “Chocolate”. Using my finger, took the eyeshadow pigment “Fantasy” by Colourpop, and swiped it straight across her lid and outward. These shadows are SO pigmented, and only $5 on their website colourpop.com! I kept her face natural with just a couple swipes of Too Faced chocolate soleil bronzer and Colourpop’s blush in “Pie”.

Fest004Fest049

Kendal is rocking a geometric pattern with Ben Nye’s yellow and white aqua paint. I feel like these types of face paint look best with that “painted” effect to them instead of perfect, neatly drawn lines. I added in some accent dots for fun with a sigma E05. Eyebrows are ABH Dip Brow in blonde.

This flower crown was purchased at my town’s Hyde Park Street Fair about two years ago, and I can’t remember the name of the company. If I find them I will link it here asap! but you can purchase crowns like these on etsy for relatively cheap.

Fest021Fest044

Syd’s makeup was kept very mellow with color choice, but bold with pattern. Using the ben nye aqua paints in white, we went with a “tribal” vibe to achieve her look. Eyebrows are ABH in the color “Soft Brown”. Eyeliner is Makeup Forever Ink Liner in Black.

Glasses and flower crown both purchased at Forever 21 at random times.

Fest009Fest053

and lastly, Jordie’s look was created using the Ben Nye paints in white and blue. I made solid paint lines and went back in with a smaller brush to create a rough feel instead of making everything symmetrical. Eyebrows are ABH in “blonde” and eyes are a mixture of colors from the Tartlette palette.

Here are some more shots and angles of each look. I hope you find inspiration in these pictures! If you have questions regarding the looks, feedback, or any questions/comments, feel free to let me know! Happy festival season and happy face painting my loves!

Xoxo Shelby

Fest052_1 Fest050_1 Fest047_1 Fest024Fest036 Fest030 Fest031

Instagrams:

myself: @shelbymorgan.blog

photography: @haley.loraine

hair: @hair_by_sydneyallison

models: @emilyggrasmick // @kendalstopherr // @micaelalunsfordd // @jordiekay

Leave a comment